Bacon Cheese Meatloaf

This recipe is originally courtesy of Paula Deen, but more closely given to me by my coworker.  I have a meatloaf recipe which my husband and I LOVE.  It’s moist, has a great flavor, and is easy to make!  Even so, I am always up for new recipes, so I thought I would try the meatloaf that is someone else’s “favorite!”

Ingredients:
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 10 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled (<<I only used 5)
  • 1 8oz. package sharp Cheddar, grated (I substituted mozzarella)
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 TB Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 TB prepared mustard
  • 1 (3oz) can French Fried Onions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a loaf pan or a large baking dish. (I use a baking dish and form the loaf in the pan–this way the excess grease runs off the sides and does not stay on top of the loaf)

2. In a large bowl, combine the beef and the next 8 ingredients, mixing well.

3. In a small bowl, combine the ketchup and mustard. Stir 1/4 of the mixture into the meat mixture, reserving the remaining ketchup mixture.  (When I make this again, I will use less mustard–it was a little strong for my taste)

4. Form meat mixture into a loaf shape into the pan. You may use a broiler pan as well (if you have one) to catch excess grease. Spread the remaining ketchup/mustard mixture over the loaf.

5. Bake 40 minutes. Top with French Fried Onions. Bake another 10-15 minutes, or until meat is no longer pink.

Bacon Cheddar Meatloaf

After tasting this meatloaf, I agree that it is good, but I think it tasted more like a Bacon Burger than a Meatloaf.  It was a good change of pace, but I think I’ll stick to my Betty Crocker Meatloaf Recipe when I get a craving for meatloaf. 😉

If you have a recipe that you think I should try, let me know and I’ll be happy to test it out! 🙂

Note: In the picture, the meatloaf looks like it has a “loose” shape.  While it was a little “loose,” it stayed together just fine.  I think if I had used a broiler pan, it would have fixed this problem making it firmer and hold it’s original shape a little better.

Please let me know your thoughts!

