Monogram Wood Sign

As a warning, this is my second barn wood related project posted in one month.  If this offends you, feel free to stop reading now. You can take your barn-wood-hatin’-self and “go on somewhere”.  That’s how we say “get lost” in the South–in case you weren’t familiar with the saying. Living in Virginia, I consider myself as being a Southerner.  Some people disagree saying Virginia is considered “Mid-Atlantic.” They are just plain wrong.

Virginia is in the South!

Enough of that—back to the topic.  In my opinion, barn wood, or any reclaimed/recycled wood, brings a distinctly different texture to any living space.  My parents have replaced a good section of their barn with metal panels, thus they have a ton of planks just sitting around waiting for someone to love them again. (This is where I come in!) How can I let those planks sit unloved in the shed? I just had to take them and give them new purpose!

Thus, I present my creation, a Monogram Wood Sign.  We cut and screwed the pieces much like we did in the DIY Chevron American Flag Décor. When I say “we,” I really mean my husband Brandon.  He handles everything that involves his power tools.  This time I wanted the pieces to be uneven rather than uniform, to give it a more rustic look.

235

236

Once the pieces were together, I did a simple white wash to lighten the wood. To white wash, you mix about two parts paint with one part water.  After I brushed on a layer with my brush, I took a paper towel and wiped the wood to make it appear even more rustic.  If you do this, make sure you wipe lightly and in one consistent direction.  Look at the wood’s lovely texture!

238

While the paint was drying, I went to my computer to find a classy and simple monogram outline.  After much searching I found one and printed it out in the size I wanted.  I then cut it out and traced in onto the wood.  I cut away sections at a time to reveal the outline.

239 240 241

If I had seen Upcycled Treasurer’s DIY Wood Sign before I started my project, I would have had a much easier time tracing this design…so if you don’t feel comfortable free-handing, head over to Upcycled Treasure’s tutorial on how to transfer regular printer ink to your wood project.

Next, I printed, cut, and traced each letter of my last name below the swirly monogram.  After tracing the outline with a pencil, I used a sharpie to color it in.  I found it was easier to use the sharpie than a paintbrush due to the small details of the individual letters.  I really did try the paint, it just wasn’t working for me.

242 243 244

After it dried, it was time to hang it up over my couch! These frames will (hopefully) hold black and white photos one day, but for now I will have to be content with some abstract designs.  What do you think? Do you think I have too much “barn wood” in my suburban house??

Monogram Wood Sign Monogram Wood Sign1 Monogram Wood Sign

P.S. I have liked to my first blog parties below! Check them out by clicking the following links Mad in Crafts, Tip JunkieThe NY Melrose Family- Whimsy Wednesday and the below buttons!

The DIY Dreamer
The Dedicated House
Live Randomly Simple
Please check out my blog party linkups here.
7 thoughts on “Monogram Wood Sign

    • Thank you so much!! Last week was my first week of participating in blog linkup parties, so it means the WORLD to me to be featured!! I am obsessed with your site and will be visiting often!! Thank you again!!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Weekly Features Series

  2. Pingback: Make it Pretty Monday – Week 144

Please let me know your thoughts!

